LOGO
  • ,

    Children in foster care need your voice more than ever

    As stress and anxiety increase in our community with the public health crisis COVID-19 evolving, the need for Capital Area CASA (Court Appointed Special Advocate) Association grows even greater. CASA is urgently seeking community volunteers to become advocates for abused and neglect children in East Baton Rouge Parish. Caring adults are needed to speak up for these youth living in foster care.

    “CASA children have already been traumatized by abuse and neglect and now face increased anxiety as this health crisis unfolds. As CASA volunteers continue their advocacy work on behalf of these children through Facetime and video chat, we also have to think about the children who don’t have a CASA volunteer yet and the children who will enter foster care as this crisis evolves. We need to ensure that those children will also have the benefit of an advocate to speak up in their best interest during this complex time, and after the crisis ends,” said Erin Fulbright.

    CASA volunteers advocate in helping these children reach safe, permanent homes. CASA volunteers do not provide legal representation, nor do they replace social workers. They are an independent voice speaking solely for the best interests of the child.

    The first step to becoming a CASA volunteer is to attend an information session. As we continue our recruitment efforts for volunteers, and while respecting the state’s stay-at-home order, the orientations are being conducted online until further notice.

    To RSVP for one of the following 45-minute online sessions, please visit www.casabr.org/volunteer.

    •  3 p.m., Wednesday, April 8
    • 1:30 p.m., Wednesday, April 15
    • 10 a.m., Saturday, April 25
    • 5 p.m., Thursday, April 30
    • 12 p.m., Monday, May 4
    • 10 a.m., Saturday, May 16
    • 3 p.m., Friday, May 22
    • 5 p.m., Wednesday, May 27
    • 10 a.m., Saturday, June 6
    • 3 p.m., Friday, June 12
    • 4:30 p.m., Wednesday, June 17
    • 12 p.m., Tuesday, June 30

    CASA is also accepting participants into its next volunteer training class, which starts June 9, 2020.

    ONLINE:  www.casabr.org or email volunteer@casabr.org. 

     

    Read more »
Back to Top
Facebook Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com